BTCBTC$80,736-1.20%|
ETHETH$2,377.1-1.11%|
USDTUSDT$0.99908+0.02%|
BNBBNB$737.3300-0.87%|
XRPXRP$1.2900-2.92%|
USDCUSDC$0.99970+0.02%|
SOLSOL$102.1300-2.28%|
TRXTRX$0.32972+0.18%|
FIGR_HELOCFIGR_HELOC$1.0210-0.66%|
ZECZEC$1,169.38-5.03%|
HYPEHYPE$76.4500-2.39%|
DOGEDOGE$0.07819-2.23%|
XMRXMR$585.8100-3.42%|
USDSUSDS$1.0000+0.02%|
WBTWBT$78.3800-1.22%|
LINKLINK$11.7800-3.55%|
LEOLEO$9.0100-0.31%|
ADAADA$0.21022-2.92%|
NEARNEAR$4.6400-6.68%|
XLMXLM$0.17199-3.51%|
RAINRAIN$0.00813303-5.19%|
BCHBCH$277.1800-2.69%|
USDEUSDE$0.99948+0.03%|
DAIDAI$1.0000+0.02%|
LTCLTC$56.8400-4.66%|
UNIUNI$6.9000-4.69%|
CCCC$0.10352+0.33%|
AVAXAVAX$9.0300-3.06%|
USD1USD1$0.99890+0.01%|
SUISUI$0.95641-4.19%|
BTCBTC$80,736-1.20%|
ETHETH$2,377.1-1.11%|
USDTUSDT$0.99908+0.02%|
BNBBNB$737.3300-0.87%|
XRPXRP$1.2900-2.92%|
USDCUSDC$0.99970+0.02%|
SOLSOL$102.1300-2.28%|
TRXTRX$0.32972+0.18%|
FIGR_HELOCFIGR_HELOC$1.0210-0.66%|
ZECZEC$1,169.38-5.03%|
HYPEHYPE$76.4500-2.39%|
DOGEDOGE$0.07819-2.23%|
XMRXMR$585.8100-3.42%|
USDSUSDS$1.0000+0.02%|
WBTWBT$78.3800-1.22%|
LINKLINK$11.7800-3.55%|
LEOLEO$9.0100-0.31%|
ADAADA$0.21022-2.92%|
NEARNEAR$4.6400-6.68%|
XLMXLM$0.17199-3.51%|
RAINRAIN$0.00813303-5.19%|
BCHBCH$277.1800-2.69%|
USDEUSDE$0.99948+0.03%|
DAIDAI$1.0000+0.02%|
LTCLTC$56.8400-4.66%|
UNIUNI$6.9000-4.69%|
CCCC$0.10352+0.33%|
AVAXAVAX$9.0300-3.06%|
USD1USD1$0.99890+0.01%|
SUISUI$0.95641-4.19%|
Kolan
KolanVirtual Card

Kolan Card

Kolan is Hurupay's rebranded cross-border account with a virtual Visa card for freelancers. It is a credit card secured by crypto collateral, with 0% interest, no cashback and up to 3% FX plus 3% cross-border fees — and a Kenya exit behind it.

3.0
Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America Visa Visit website

Overview

What is the Kolan Card?

Kolan is the cross-border money app behind Hurupay, a Kenyan-born, US-incorporated fintech that rebranded to Kolan on 4 August 2026 while keeping Hurupay Inc. as its legal entity. The pitch is one account for someone who earns in dollars from abroad: your own USD, EUR and GBP account details to receive payments by ACH, wire, SEPA, Faster Payments, Apple Pay or crypto, the ability to keep the money in dollars rather than convert it, and a virtual Visa card you can create in seconds and spend wherever Visa is accepted. On top of that sits a trading suite — crypto, memecoins, perpetuals, prediction markets and tokenised stocks — which is where the app has been heading since the rebrand.

The account side is the mature part. The company says it has processed more than $50 million for freelancers since January 2025 and was marginally profitable as of March 2026, run by a ten-person team co-founded in 2023 by COO James Mugambi. It is a Circle Alliance partner, and the app has 4.2 stars from 787 ratings on Google Play.

The card is a credit card secured by your own crypto collateral

This is the single most important thing to understand, and it is invisible from the marketing. Kolan publishes four separate card agreements — US consumer, international consumer, US business and international business — and the US consumer one is titled, in full, "KOLAN CREDIT CARD ACCOUNT OPENING DISCLOSURES – SET CREDIT LIMIT". It is a credit account, not a spending balance.

What that means in practice is mechanical and worth reading twice. Your spending limit is generally set to the market value of the digital assets you supply as collateral. The terms give a plain example: provide digital assets worth $100 and your spending limit is $100 across all your Kolan cards; once that is spent, you must either pay the balance down or add more collateral. The collateral is held through smart contracts on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum, and Kolan expressly disclaims responsibility for how those contracts perform. If the value of your collateral drops below your unpaid charges, Kolan may demand more collateral or you may be subject to a liquidation event at its discretion. Spending limits are described as dynamic, changeable without notice, and reducible to $0.

So the card is not a debit card drawing on a wallet balance with a stablecoin logo on it. It is a collateralised line of credit, where the crypto you deposit is the security, and the company's own terms say Kolan "does not itself extend credit, set interest rates, determine repayment terms or hold Collateral". The interest rate today is genuinely 0% on purchases, but the issuer and Kolan reserve the right to introduce interest on new purchases in future.

Disclosures that contradict each other

Two official documents from the same company describe the money differently. Kolan's website footer states that banking services are provided by SSB, Member FDIC, and that funds deposited at SSB are eligible for FDIC insurance up to $250,000 per depositor, per insured bank. The general terms of service state that banking services are provided by a licensed partner, Bridge Ventures Inc., and that funds on Kolan are settled in USDC stablecoin and not insured by FDIC or any other deposit insurance corporation in the countries it operates. Third-party coverage describes stablecoin-backed accounts, and the company's own materials describe converting incoming payments into USDC.

Both statements can be technically true at once — dollars sitting at an insured bank versus balances held in stablecoin — but they lead to opposite conclusions for a user deciding how safe their balance is, and nothing on the marketing pages reconciles them. The registered address is inconsistent too: the terms give 651 N Broad Street, Suite 201, Delaware, while the website and press materials give 500 Treat Avenue, San Francisco.

One issuer that is never named

Across all four agreements the card issuer is referred to only as "the Issuer", defined as the entity "identified on the back of the Kolan Card". The only concrete issuer fact published is that the card is issued under licence from Visa. Independent company profiles describe the card as issued by a bank partner under a card network licence, funded from the user's Kolan balance. By comparison, other cards in this directory name their issuing bank and programme manager outright, so the omission is conspicuous rather than incidental.

What the account actually costs

The account layer is competently priced for its market: receiving salary or payroll payments from registered businesses and platforms such as Gusto, Upwork, Rippling, Fiverr and Payoneer carries no cap, ACH deposits above $100 are free apart from a $2 flat fee on smaller ones, transfers between Kolan users and USDC or USDT withdrawals cost $0, and the card carries no annual fee. Wire deposits cost $30 more than ACH, per-transaction deposit limits sit at $4,999 unless you ask for more, and withdrawal costs depend on the payout partner. Exchange rates are indicative in the app and your final rate is confirmed at the moment of conversion, with any margin built into that rate rather than published.

Kenya: a market the company left

Kolan's early story was built on Kenya, and it no longer serves it. Hurupay ended USD banking services for Kenyan customers, with Business Daily Africa reporting the exit under the headline that the US crypto firm left "amid anti-money laundering scrutiny", and local coverage describing the withdrawal of USD banking, cross-border transfer and cryptocurrency services — cutting off the payment route local freelancers and remote workers had been relying on. Kenya still appears in the company's marketing content. It is a live demonstration of the risk this whole category carries: when a banking partner withdraws, the account goes with it, and the user is left to find another route.

Where this sits in the directory

A Tier-3 placement with three stars reflects a real, operating cross-border account with meaningful volume behind it, held back by a card structure that is a collateralised credit facility presented as everyday spending, an FX cost of up to 3% plus 3% on international purchases, no cashback at all, an unnamed issuer, self-contradicting disclosures on who holds the money and whether it is insured, and a documented exit from a market it had built.

If you want a stablecoin-funded card with a published fee line and no collateral mechanics, compare RedotPay or KAST. For the whole field, see the crypto cards directory.

Features & Benefits

Kolan card and account features

  • Virtual Visa card created in seconds from the app, spent anywhere Visa is accepted, charged in dollars.
  • USD, EUR and GBP account details in your own name, so you can be paid like a local by foreign clients and platforms.
  • Receive payments several ways: ACH and wire into your dollar details, SEPA for euros, Faster Payments for pounds, plus Apple Pay and crypto deposits.
  • Unlimited incoming payroll and salary payments from registered businesses and platforms including Gusto, Upwork, Rippling, Fiverr and Payoneer.
  • No annual fee on the card, and free transfers between Kolan accounts.
  • USDC and USDT withdrawals at no cost, and the same for transfers between users.
  • Hold dollars or euros instead of converting on arrival, which is the core value for users in high-inflation economies.
  • Convert and withdraw to local currency with an in-app exchange rate calculator and the final rate confirmed at conversion.
  • 0% interest on purchases under the current card terms.
  • Real-time merchant and transaction data in the app, with spending visible against your limit.
  • Card controls in the app for managing the card and its use.
  • Multi-currency support across dollars, euros and pounds in one account.
  • Business accounts on separate terms, with their own US and international card programs.
  • A trading suite in the same app: crypto and memecoin trading, perpetuals, prediction markets and tokenised stocks.
  • Identity verification in-app, described as fast, with "verified from day one" compliance messaging.
  • Regulated-partner framework, with a Circle Alliance partnership and named banking infrastructure on the account side.
  • iOS and Android apps, actively maintained — the iOS build was updated on 28 September 2026.
  • Arabic, Spanish and English market content aimed at freelancers earning across borders.

Not available or not disclosed

  • Cashback or any rewards programme — Kolan offers none on the card
  • A physical card, anywhere on either brand, despite an ATM fee schedule existing in the card terms
  • The identity of the card issuer, which is defined only as the entity printed on the back of the card
  • A supported-country list for the card; availability "may vary by location"
  • An FX or conversion margin figure
  • Balance transfers and cash advances under the international card terms
  • Service in Kenya, where the predecessor brand ended USD banking services
  • Perpetuals and prediction markets for UK residents

Supported Cryptocurrencies

What you can deposit and what backs the card

Kolan accepts crypto deposits alongside bank transfers, and the two named assets in its own pricing are USDC and USDT — withdrawals of both cost nothing. The account settles in stablecoins behind the scenes: the terms of service state that funds on Kolan are settled in USDC, third-party coverage describes stablecoin-backed USD, EUR and GBP accounts, and the company describes instant stablecoin settlement as a way to protect balances from local currency devaluation.

For the card, the crypto you deposit does more than fund spending — it becomes collateral securing your credit limit. The international card terms define "Supported Blockchains" as Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum, with more networks added at the issuer's discretion, and they describe the collateral as being held through smart contracts. Kolan states it does not control and is not responsible for the operation, security or performance of those smart contracts, and that it does not itself hold the collateral.

How the crypto mechanics actually work

  • Your limit equals your collateral value. The terms give a worked example: $100 of digital assets yields a $100 spending limit across all your Kolan cards, after which you must pay down the balance or add collateral.
  • A falling market can trigger a call. If the market value of your collateral drops below your unpaid charges, Kolan may require you to add collateral, or you may be subject to a liquidation event at its discretion.
  • Smart contract risk is yours. The agreement disclaims responsibility for the smart contracts holding the collateral, and waives your right to require it to pursue other remedies or exhaust the security first.
  • You cannot spend from your own wallet. There is no self-custody wallet flow to pay from; the card spends against a collateralised credit line attached to your Kolan account.
  • TradFi-style protections follow the card, not the crypto. The card is issued under licence from Visa, so network acceptance and chargeback rights apply to purchases, and the agreement carries the usual arbitration clause and an over-the-line fee structure.
  • Cash-like crypto purchases are restricted. Buying cryptocurrency, money orders, wire transfers and person-to-person transfers are listed among restricted cash-like transactions on the card.

The custody answer, stated honestly

Kolan's marketing describes a self-custody app and its terms describe a custodial account, and both are partly right. Balances you hold in the account are custodial — bank infrastructure with a named licensed partner and stablecoin settlement — while the collateral behind your card sits in smart contracts that the company says it does not control. That hybrid is why this listing records the custody model as hybrid rather than picking a side, and it is worth reading the two definitions side by side before you decide how much to leave in the account.

Fees & Limits

Kolan card fees

Kolan publishes four card agreements and the fees inside them differ, so what you pay depends on which program your account sits in. The card is marketed as a free virtual Visa card with no annual fee, and that part holds up. What is not on the marketing pages is the foreign spending cost, which under the international terms is up to 3% FX plus up to 3% cross-border, or the fact that the US program charges a different, much lower 1%.

ChargeInternational consumer programUS consumer program
Annual feeNot charged0%
Interest on purchases0%, with the issuer and Kolan reserving the right to introduce interest on future purchases0.00%, no interest chargeable
Foreign exchange fee (non-USD)Up to 3%1% international transaction fee on each transaction in US dollars
Cross border feeUp to 3%Covered by the 1% international transaction fee
ATM withdrawal$1.00 + 0.65%, with the FX fee also charged on non-USD withdrawalsTreated as a cash advance
ATM balance inquiry$0.60Not listed
ATM decline$0.60Not listed
Late paymentUp to $402% of the current outstanding card balance
Returned paymentUp to $29None
Over the credit lineNot listedNone
Balance transferNot availableN/A
Cash advanceNot availableNone listed
Payment windowNot specified21 days after the close of each billing cycle

Account and deposit fees

  • ACH deposits: free above $100, with a flat $2 fee on deposits under $100; minimum $5
  • Wire deposits: $30 more than ACH, so a flat $32 on wires under $100; minimum $50
  • Deposit limits: up to $4,999 per transaction, raisable on request
  • Payroll and salary receipts: no limit when paid by registered businesses or platforms such as Gusto, Upwork, Rippling, Fiverr and Payoneer
  • USDC and USDT withdrawals: $0
  • Transfers between Kolan users: the brand's older pricing literature cites 1% flat fees on transfers, with instant stablecoin settlement
  • Withdrawals to local banks: cost depends on the payout partner, shown before you confirm
  • Currency conversion: the rate is indicative in the app and confirmed at conversion, with any margin inside the rate rather than published as a fee

What a real month looks like

Receive $2,000 of client work by ACH and it costs you nothing, hold it in dollars, and spend it on US-dollar merchants and you pay no card fee at all beyond the annual fee of zero — with no cashback to earn back either. Spend that money on foreign-currency merchants inside the international program and up to 3% FX plus up to 3% cross-border applies, so a $500 foreign purchase can cost up to $30 in card fees alone, before any conversion the network applies. Users in the US program pay 1% instead. Cash out to a local bank and a partner fee applies on top. The account is competitive; the card is the expensive part, and the gap between the two programs is worth establishing before you plan spending.

What to confirm before committing

  • Which of the four card programs your account sits in, because the foreign spending cost is either 1% or up to 3% plus up to 3%
  • Who the issuer actually is — it is only defined as the entity printed on the back of the card
  • Whether your balance sits at SSB as an FDIC-eligible deposit or is settled in USDC and uninsured, since the website and the terms of service say different things
  • How collateral is valued, at what point you get a margin call, and what a liquidation event would cost you
  • The conversion rate and margin applied when you move between currencies
  • Whether your country is supported, given the absence of any published country list and the Kenyan exit

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Live, operating cross-border account with a real customer base: more than $50 million processed for freelancers since January 2025
  • Company reported as marginally profitable by March 2026, which is unusual at this stage in the category
  • Your own USD, EUR and GBP account details in your own name, opened from the app
  • Receives payments by ACH, wire, SEPA and Faster Payments from clients and platforms including Upwork, Fiverr, Payoneer, Deel, Gusto and Rippling
  • No cap on incoming payroll and salary payments from registered businesses and platforms
  • ACH deposits above $100 are free, with only a $2 flat fee on smaller deposits
  • Free transfers between Kolan accounts
  • USDC and USDT withdrawals cost nothing
  • No annual fee on the card, and 0% interest on purchases under the current terms
  • Lets users hold dollars, euros or pounds rather than converting into a weakening local currency on arrival
  • In-app exchange rate calculator with the final rate confirmed at conversion, across currencies including NGN, KES, GHS, ZAR, PHP and ARS
  • Virtual Visa card created in seconds and accepted wherever Visa is used, including on services that decline locally issued cards
  • Card issued under licence from Visa, so network acceptance and chargeback rights apply to purchases
  • Strong Google Play reception at 4.2 stars from 787 ratings
  • Actively maintained apps, with a build shipped on 28 September 2026
  • Named banking and stablecoin infrastructure on the account side, including a Circle Alliance partnership
  • Business accounts with dedicated US and international card programs for companies paying contractors
  • A broader product suite in one app: crypto and memecoin trading, perpetuals, prediction markets and tokenised stocks
  • Market-specific content and support for freelancers in Nigeria, the Philippines, Pakistan, Argentina, Spain and Singapore
  • Transparent, publicly published legal documentation — all four card agreements, the prohibitions list and the AML policy are readable without an account
  • Card fees are at least stated in the disclosures rather than buried, including FX, ATM and penalty amounts
  • Strong fit for its core user: someone paid in dollars who needs to receive, hold and spend without losing a large cut to conversion

Cons

  • The card is a credit card, not a spending balance: the US consumer agreement is headed "KOLAN CREDIT CARD ACCOUNT OPENING DISCLOSURES – SET CREDIT LIMIT"
  • Your spending limit is sized to the market value of crypto collateral you deposit, so your limit moves with the market
  • A fall in collateral value can trigger a demand for more collateral or a liquidation event at the company's discretion
  • Collateral is held in smart contracts that Kolan explicitly says it does not control and is not responsible for
  • The website says banking services come from SSB, Member FDIC, with funds eligible for FDIC insurance up to $250,000
  • The terms of service say banking services come from Bridge Ventures Inc. and that funds are settled in USDC and not insured by any deposit insurance corporation — directly contradicting the website
  • The card issuer is never named in any agreement, and is defined only as the entity printed on the back of the card
  • International card terms price foreign exchange at up to 3% plus a cross-border fee of up to 3%, roughly 6% on foreign purchases
  • The US program charges 1% on the same transactions, and nothing tells you which program you are in before you sign up
  • No cashback and no rewards programme of any kind
  • No physical card is advertised anywhere, yet ATM fees of $1.00 + 0.65% plus $0.60 inquiry and decline charges sit in the card terms
  • A late payment costs 2% of the outstanding balance under the US terms, or up to $40 internationally
  • Interest is 0% now, but the issuer and Kolan reserve the right to introduce interest on future purchases
  • Spending limits are described as dynamic and can be reduced to $0 with or without notice
  • Cash advances and balance transfers are unavailable on the international card
  • Cash-like transactions including buying cryptocurrency are restricted on the card
  • Kenya is no longer served: the predecessor brand ended USD banking, cross-border transfer and cryptocurrency services there, reported amid anti-money laundering scrutiny
  • Kenyan users were cut off from a payment route they had relied on, which is the clearest demonstration of banking-partner risk in this category
  • Marketing still talks to Kenyan freelancers even though the service was withdrawn
  • No supported-country list for the card is published, and the app only says availability may vary by location
  • No FX margin or conversion spread is disclosed; the rate is only shown at the moment of conversion
  • The registered address differs between the terms of service (Delaware) and the website and press materials (San Francisco)
  • App Store reception is materially weaker than Android — 3.88 stars from 34 US ratings and 3.19 from 48 Nigerian ratings
  • Reviews on the App Store and Trustpilot (2.0 from 11 reviews) include repeated complaints about deposits not reflecting, high charges, refunded transfers and verification codes never arriving
  • Perpetual trading and prediction markets are closed to UK residents
  • Wire deposits cost $30 more than ACH, and deposit limits sit at $4,999 per transaction until you ask for more
  • A ten-person team operating in several regulated markets at once, which is thin for the compliance load these products carry
  • Arbitration clause limits your ability to bring or join a class proceeding

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Kolan Card and is it live?

It is the virtual Visa card attached to Kolan, the cross-border money app formerly known as Hurupay. You open an account, get your own USD, EUR and GBP account details to receive payments from abroad, and create a virtual card in the app that you can spend wherever Visa is accepted. It is live: the iOS app was updated on 28 September 2026, and the Android app carries 4.2 stars from 787 ratings. The card is virtual only — no physical card is advertised anywhere on either brand.

Is the Kolan Card a debit card or a credit card?

It is a credit card, and this is the part the marketing does not show. Kolan publishes four card agreements, and the US consumer one is titled "KOLAN CREDIT CARD ACCOUNT OPENING DISCLOSURES – SET CREDIT LIMIT". The international consumer terms call it a Spend Card while still describing a credit limit and collateral. Your spending limit is generally set to the market value of the digital assets you provide as collateral, and the terms give a plain example: supply $100 of digital assets and your limit is $100 across all your Kolan cards. Once it is spent you must pay the balance down or add more collateral. Interest on purchases is currently 0%, but the issuer and Kolan reserve the right to introduce it on future purchases.

What fees does the Kolan Card charge?

There is no annual fee and no interest at present. The expensive part is foreign spending, and it depends on which program your account is in. Under the international consumer and international business terms, a Foreign Exchange Fee of up to 3% applies to non-USD purchases and a Cross Border Fee of up to 3% applies on top. Under the US programs the international transaction fee is 1% of each transaction in US dollars. ATM use is priced at $1.00 plus 0.65% per withdrawal, with $0.60 for a balance inquiry and $0.60 for a declined transaction. Late payments cost up to $40 internationally or 2% of the outstanding balance in the US program, and returned payments up to $29.

Does the Kolan Card offer cashback?

No. There is no cashback and no rewards programme of any kind. Kolan does not advertise one, and the card disclosure boxes contain no rewards line — the only mention of rewards in the card terms is a disclaimer about blockchain yields. If earning on spending matters to you, this card does not do it. The value is in the account: receiving and holding dollars, euros and pounds without converting into a local currency.

How does the collateral work, and what happens if crypto prices fall?

Your card limit is generally equal to the market value of the digital assets you provide as collateral, and that collateral is held through smart contracts which Kolan says it does not control and is not responsible for. If the market value of your collateral falls below your unpaid charges, Kolan may require you to add more collateral, or you may be subject to a liquidation event at its discretion. Spending limits are also described as dynamic and can be increased or decreased, including reduced to $0, with or without notice. Treat a drop in the market as a direct hit to your available spending power.

Is my balance insured, and who holds the money?

The two official documents disagree. Kolan's website footer says banking services are provided by SSB, Member FDIC, and that funds deposited at SSB are eligible for FDIC insurance up to $250,000 per depositor, per insured bank. The general terms of service say banking services are provided by a licensed partner, Bridge Ventures Inc., and that funds on Kolan are settled in USDC stablecoin and are not insured by FDIC or any other deposit insurance corporation in the countries it operates. Both can be true of different layers of the product, but they point to opposite conclusions and nothing on the marketing pages reconciles them. Ask support in writing which applies to your balance.

Who issues the Kolan Card?

Kolan does not say. Across all four agreements the issuer is referred to only as "the Issuer", defined as the entity identified on the back of the Kolan Card, with the agreement noting that the issuer is the creditor responsible for funding your purchases. The only concrete fact published is that the card is issued under licence from Visa. Independent company profiles describe it as issued by a bank partner under a card network licence. Other cards in this directory name their issuing bank openly, so the omission stands out.

What does the account itself cost to use?

ACH deposits are free above $100, with a flat $2 fee on deposits under $100 and a $5 minimum. Wire deposits cost $30 more than ACH, so $32 on wires under $100 with a $50 minimum. Deposit limits sit at $4,999 per transaction until you request more, and payroll or salary payments from registered businesses and platforms such as Gusto, Upwork, Rippling, Fiverr and Payoneer have no limit. Transfers between Kolan users and USDC or USDT withdrawals cost nothing, and withdrawal fees to local banks depend on the payout partner and are shown before you confirm. Currency conversion has no published margin; the rate is confirmed in the app at the moment of conversion.

Where is the Kolan Card available?

There is no published supported-country list for the card, and the app says only that features and availability may vary by location. Kolan publishes dedicated market content for Nigeria, the Philippines, Pakistan, Argentina, Spain and Singapore, and broadly targets freelancers across Africa, Asia and Latin America. Kenya is now excluded: Kolan's predecessor brand ended USD banking services for Kenyan customers, withdrawing USD banking, cross-border transfer and cryptocurrency services, which local reporting linked to anti-money laundering scrutiny. Test eligibility inside the app before planning around it.

What is the difference between Kolan and Hurupay?

They are the same company. Hurupay rebranded to Kolan on 4 August 2026, keeping Hurupay Inc. as the legal entity, with Kolan as a registered DBA. The company says the change involved no alteration to the legal entity or corporate structure, and that the same ownership, leadership and team continue — COO James Mugambi remains the company's public voice. The apps are still listed under the Kolan name, and older marketing URLs at hurupay.com redirect to the Kolan brand, so reviews and coverage written about Hurupay apply to the same product.

Fees at a Glance

Setup / Issuance—
Monthly feeFree
Annual feeFree
ATM withdrawalThe international card terms price ATM use as follows: withdrawal fee $1.00 plus 0.65%, balance inquiry $0.60, declined transaction $0.60, and the FX fee is charged again on non-USD withdrawals. The US consumer program prices ATM differently through the credit agreement, where PIN cash withdrawals are treated as cash advances. The odd part is that no physical card or ATM card is advertised anywhere on either brand, so these ATM charges sit in the terms with no advertised product to trigger them.
FX feeNot what a "spend globally" pitch suggests, and it depends which of the four card programs you are in. Under the International Consumer and International Business card terms, a Foreign Exchange Fee of up to 3% applies to non-USD purchases and a Cross Border Fee of up to 3% applies on top, which can reach roughly 6% on a foreign transaction. Under the US programs, the international transaction fee is 1% of each transaction in US dollars. Neither brand publishes these rates on its marketing pages, and the exchange rate used for conversions is set by the card network from wholesale market ranges rather than fixed by Kolan.
CashbackThere is no cashback and no rewards programme. Kolan markets none, and the card disclosure boxes contain no rewards line — the only mention of rewards anywhere in the card terms is a disclaimer that Kolan and the issuer make no warranties about the yield or rewards of any supported blockchain or collateral. If earning on spend matters to you, this card does not do it, and the value proposition is the account itself: holding and getting paid in dollars, euros and pounds rather than a return on spending.
Spending limitYour limit is not a balance you top up — it is a credit limit sized to the collateral you provide. The international card terms state that your spending limit is generally set by Kolan and equals the amount of collateral, with a worked example: supply digital assets with a market value of $100 and your spending limit is $100 across all your Kolan cards, after which you must either pay down the balance or provide more collateral. Limits are described as dynamic and may be changed at any time with or without notice, including temporary increases or decreases, or reduced to $0. The issuer can also set per-card or aggregate limits. If the market value of your collateral falls below your unpaid charges, Kolan may require additional collateral or you may be subject to a liquidation event at its discretion.

Supported Coins

USDCUSDT

Fiat Currencies

USDEURGBP

Available In

NigeriaPhilippinesPakistanArgentinaSpainSingapore