BTCBTC$80,540-1.43%|
ETHETH$2,363.5-1.69%|
USDTUSDT$0.99908+0.02%|
BNBBNB$732.7000-1.57%|
XRPXRP$1.2800-3.48%|
USDCUSDC$0.99969+0.02%|
SOLSOL$101.6700-2.68%|
TRXTRX$0.32953-0.02%|
FIGR_HELOCFIGR_HELOC$1.0210+0.00%|
ZECZEC$1,154.72-6.09%|
HYPEHYPE$75.2900-4.12%|
DOGEDOGE$0.07743-3.64%|
XMRXMR$588.4500-3.95%|
USDSUSDS$1.0000+0.02%|
WBTWBT$78.1800-1.45%|
LINKLINK$11.5900-4.68%|
LEOLEO$9.0100-0.29%|
ADAADA$0.20738-4.14%|
XLMXLM$0.17012-4.23%|
NEARNEAR$4.5000-9.13%|
RAINRAIN$0.00809518-4.80%|
BCHBCH$275.9200-3.85%|
USDEUSDE$0.99944+0.02%|
DAIDAI$1.0000+0.01%|
LTCLTC$56.3600-5.28%|
UNIUNI$6.8100-5.65%|
CCCC$0.10302+0.23%|
USD1USD1$0.99890+0.01%|
AVAXAVAX$8.8900-4.08%|
SUISUI$0.94435-5.19%|
BTCBTC$80,540-1.43%|
ETHETH$2,363.5-1.69%|
USDTUSDT$0.99908+0.02%|
BNBBNB$732.7000-1.57%|
XRPXRP$1.2800-3.48%|
USDCUSDC$0.99969+0.02%|
SOLSOL$101.6700-2.68%|
TRXTRX$0.32953-0.02%|
FIGR_HELOCFIGR_HELOC$1.0210+0.00%|
ZECZEC$1,154.72-6.09%|
HYPEHYPE$75.2900-4.12%|
DOGEDOGE$0.07743-3.64%|
XMRXMR$588.4500-3.95%|
USDSUSDS$1.0000+0.02%|
WBTWBT$78.1800-1.45%|
LINKLINK$11.5900-4.68%|
LEOLEO$9.0100-0.29%|
ADAADA$0.20738-4.14%|
XLMXLM$0.17012-4.23%|
NEARNEAR$4.5000-9.13%|
RAINRAIN$0.00809518-4.80%|
BCHBCH$275.9200-3.85%|
USDEUSDE$0.99944+0.02%|
DAIDAI$1.0000+0.01%|
LTCLTC$56.3600-5.28%|
UNIUNI$6.8100-5.65%|
CCCC$0.10302+0.23%|
USD1USD1$0.99890+0.01%|
AVAXAVAX$8.8900-4.08%|
SUISUI$0.94435-5.19%|
Startale Group
Startale GroupVirtual + Physical

Startale Card

Startale Card is a self-custodial Visa card built on Soneium that spends onchain balances at 150M+ Visa merchants, pays cashback in the USDSC stablecoin, and aims to let eligible assets keep earning yield until the moment they are spent. It is waitlist-only, with no fees or limits published yet.

4.0
Global Visa Visit website

Overview

What is the Startale Card?

Startale Card is a self-custodial Visa card built on Soneium, the Ethereum Layer 2 that Startale Group develops with Sony Block Solutions Labs. It connects onchain balances to everyday payments: buy a coffee, book a hotel or a flight, and pay with assets you already hold, anywhere Visa is accepted — a network Startale puts at more than 150 million merchants.

The company behind it is substantial for a card at this stage. Startale Group is Japan’s onchain finance builder, backed by SBI Group, Sony, Samsung Next and UOB Venture Management, and it closed a USD 63 million Series A in March 2026 anchored by a USD 50 million cheque from SBI Group. It co-develops Soneium with Sony Group, is building the tokenized-securities chain Strium with SBI Holdings, and co-launched JPYSC, Japan’s first trust-bank-backed yen stablecoin. That balance sheet is why the card carries four stars here despite having no published economics — the counterparty is real, the product is not yet purchasable.

Pre-launch: what that actually means

Be clear about where this stands. The card was introduced at WebX 2026 in Tokyo on 13 July 2026, and the waitlist is live inside the Startale App at app.startale.com/cards. Startale’s own announcement says the waitlist went live “alongside the card’s public launch”, some outlets reported the card as live, and others described the waitlist as opening ahead of a public launch. What is certain is that reserving a place, not receiving a card, is what you can do today.

Queue position is decided by two things: your STAR Points balance, snapshotted on 7 July 2026 to set initial ranks, and referrals, which continue to count until the card publicly launches. A referral only counts when the invited friend signs up for the Startale App and completes their own card reservation. Ranks are updated daily, and Startale reserves the right to drop or demote reservations tied to fake, duplicate or disposable email addresses.

What it promises

Three principles define the product, and one of them is genuinely distinctive in this directory:

  • Self-custodial, without locked assets. Startale positions the card against custodial cards that require you to hand over funds or lock collateral. Assets stay in your wallet, and the Startale App’s smart wallet replaces seed phrases with passkeys or social login through account abstraction.
  • Yield while you spend. In a coming release, eligible assets will sit in yield-generating vaults and keep earning until the moment they are used for payment, so saving, earning and spending stop being separate steps. This is the headline differentiator — and it is a stated future release, not something you can use today.
  • Cashback in USDSC. Rewards are paid in Startale’s own dollar stablecoin and credited to your account rather than paid in fiat or an exchange token. Startale has not published the rate.

What is not published

For a card with this much institutional weight behind it, the consumer economics are entirely undisclosed. There is no issuance fee, no monthly or annual fee, no foreign exchange rate, no cashback percentage, no spending limits, no supported-country list, no card form factor confirmation and no issuer or programme-manager named. KYC requirements, the assets the card can actually spend, and the ATM position are likewise unstated. That is normal for a pre-launch product, but it means the card cannot yet be compared on cost with anything in this directory — only on backing, design and access.

The one operational reality worth noting: the Startale App is a web interface, optimised for desktop and mobile screens, with no native mobile app yet. It currently supports Ethereum and Soneium, with more chains promised.

Who it suits

Startale Card is worth a waitlist place if you already hold assets on Soneium or in the Startale App, you want to spend onchain balances without bridging or unwinding positions, and the idea of assets earning yield right up to the moment of payment appeals more to you than a small cashback rate. It is also one of the few self-custodial cards attached to a corporate group of this size.

It is not yet a card for anyone who needs to know the costs before signing up, needs a physical card in hand this month, needs cash withdrawals, or wants published limits. Until fees and launch markets are disclosed, treat the reservation as a low-commitment position rather than a purchasing decision. For shipped alternatives with published economics, compare the crypto cards directory, where the closest self-custodial Visa products are MetaMask Card and Gnosis Pay, the latter built on a smart-account model much like Startale’s.

Features & Benefits

Startale Card features

  • Self-custodial spending — assets stay in the user’s wallet rather than being transferred to a custodial account.
  • Visa acceptance at more than 150 million merchants worldwide.
  • Built on Soneium, the Ethereum Layer 2 developed by Startale Group with Sony Block Solutions Labs.
  • Cashback paid in USDSC, Startale’s dollar stablecoin, credited directly to the user’s account.
  • Yield while you spend — eligible assets are intended to keep generating yield in vaults until they are used for payment (stated as a coming release).
  • Smart wallet with account abstraction, replacing seed phrases with passkeys or social login.
  • Startale App integration for holding, swapping, earning and reserving the card in one place.
  • Earn Vault for USDSC deposits earning yield and STAR Points.
  • STAR Points programme with daily rewards, monthly missions and ecosystem airdrops.
  • Waitlist with real priority mechanics — STAR Points set initial queue ranks, with referrals moving you up until launch.
  • Referral loop that counts only when the invited friend signs up and completes their own card reservation.
  • Multi-chain access covering Ethereum and Soneium today, with more chains promised.
  • No bridging required — the card is designed so holders do not have to unwind positions or move funds between networks to spend.
  • Institutional backing from SBI Group, Sony, Samsung Next and UOB Venture Management, alongside a USD 63 million Series A.
  • Same ecosystem as JPYSC and Strium, tying the card into a broader regulated onchain finance stack built with SBI Holdings and Sony.
  • Free to reserve — joining the waitlist costs nothing beyond a verified email address.
  • Web app access from desktop and mobile browsers, with no app-store download required.

Not yet published or available

  • Issuance, monthly, annual and foreign exchange fees — none disclosed
  • Cashback percentage
  • Spending limits of any kind
  • The list of countries where the card can be issued
  • Whether the card is physical, virtual or both
  • The issuing bank or card programme manager
  • KYC requirements and the verification markets supported
  • Which assets are eligible to spend, and which qualify for the yield-while-spending vaults
  • ATM and cash withdrawal position
  • A committed public launch date
  • Yield while you spend — described as a coming release, not live today
  • A native mobile app: the Startale App is a web interface only at present

Supported Cryptocurrencies

Supported assets

Startale has not published the list of assets the card can spend. What is documented points to the following:

  • ETH — Ethereum is one of two chains the Startale App supports today, and Soneium, the L2 the card is built on, settles on Ethereum.
  • USDSC — Startale’s own dollar stablecoin, and the asset cashback is paid in.
  • Eligible Soneium assets — the announcement refers to spending “Soneium assets” and to “eligible assets” earning yield until payment, but does not name them.

Startale App is the front end for all of this, supporting Ethereum and Soneium with more chains promised. The app also provides swap functionality, so assets can be converted inside the app rather than on an external exchange.

The self-custody model

The card is described as self-custodial and is positioned explicitly against cards that require “custodial accounts or locked assets”. In practice that means funds sit in the user’s smart account inside Startale App, which uses account abstraction with passkeys or social login instead of a seed phrase, and you can also connect an existing externally owned account such as MetaMask and move funds between the two.

The details that determine how self-custodial the spending path really is — what authorisation the card programme holds over your smart account, whether a spend is a direct transfer or an approval, and where funds sit during settlement — have not been published. Those are the questions to put to Startale before granting a card programme access to a wallet holding meaningful balances.

Yield while you spend

This is the feature that separates Startale Card from the self-custodial cards already shipping. The stated design is that eligible assets deposited into yield-generating vaults continue to earn until the moment they are used for payment, so users do not have to choose between keeping assets productive and having them spendable. Startale frames it as part of an app that is “More Than Money”, with saving, earning and spending in one place.

It is also the part with the least published detail. There is no vault list, no yield rate, no explanation of how a payment is funded when the underlying asset is mid-position in a vault, and no confirmation of which assets qualify. Startale’s announcement describes it as a coming release. Independent coverage has also noted that earning against spendable holdings is not unique to Startale — several cards already offer versions of it — so the differentiation will come down to execution and the assets that qualify.

Fees & Limits

Startale Card fees

No fees have been published. Startale has not disclosed an issuance fee, a monthly or annual fee, an FX rate, an authorisation fee, a top-up fee or a cashback percentage for the Startale Card. The waitlist costs nothing to join, and everything beyond that is unannounced.

For comparison purposes, everything that would normally sit in this section is currently pending:

ChargeStatus
Card issuance feeNot published
Monthly feeNot published
Annual feeNot published
Foreign exchange feeNot published
Authorisation feeNot published
Top-up or loading feeNot published
ATM withdrawal feeNot published, and the ATM position itself is unstated
Cashback rateConfirmed as paid in USDSC, rate not published
Cost to join the waitlistFree
Yield while you spendAnnounced as a coming release; no rate, eligibility rules or vault terms published

Limits

None published. No per-transaction, daily or monthly spending limits have been disclosed.

What to confirm before you rely on the card

  • The full fee schedule, in writing, once it is published at launch
  • The FX treatment for purchases outside USD, and whether the card balance is USD-denominated
  • Which assets are eligible for the yield vaults and what happens to a position mid-authorisation
  • Whether the card is physical, virtual or both, and what the waitlist actually delivers on launch
  • Which countries can receive the card, and the KYC requirements in yours
  • Which bank or programme manager issues the card and where balances sit while they are spendable
  • Whether cashback in USDSC can be withdrawn or only spent
  • Spending limits, and whether they can be raised for high-value purchases

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Built by Startale Group, backed by SBI Group, Sony, Samsung Next and UOB Venture Management
  • USD 63 million Series A closed in March 2026, anchored by a USD 50 million investment from SBI Group
  • Self-custodial design that keeps assets in the user’s wallet instead of a custodial account
  • Yield while you spend: eligible assets are intended to keep earning until the moment of payment
  • Cashback paid in USDSC, a stablecoin, rather than in a volatile token
  • Visa acceptance at more than 150 million merchants worldwide
  • Built on Soneium, the Ethereum L2 developed with Sony Block Solutions Labs
  • Smart wallet using account abstraction, with passkeys or social login instead of a seed phrase
  • Supports connecting an existing EOA such as MetaMask alongside the app’s smart account
  • Swap built into the app, so assets can be converted without leaving for an exchange
  • Earn Vault for USDSC yield plus STAR Points, with daily rewards and monthly missions
  • Waitlist is free to join and priority is transparent: STAR Points set initial rank, referrals move you up
  • Ranks are updated daily and referrals keep counting until the card publicly launches
  • Part of a broader regulated onchain finance stack: Soneium, Strium with SBI, JPYSC yen stablecoin
  • Institutional product alongside it (Startale Onchain Finance Kits) signals a serious corporate operation
  • App is web-based, so no app-store approval or mobile install is needed to reserve a card
  • Supports Ethereum and Soneium today, with additional chains promised
  • Launched at WebX 2026 in Tokyo, with mainstream crypto media coverage from BeInCrypto, KuCoin and Binance Square

Cons

  • Pre-launch: the card cannot be used yet — only a waitlist place can be reserved
  • No fees published at all, so the card cannot be compared on cost with anything else
  • No cashback rate, no spending limits, no issuance or monthly fee, no FX rate disclosed
  • Launch status is inconsistent across sources: Startale says the waitlist opened alongside the public launch, while other outlets describe a launch still to come
  • No committed public launch date
  • Which countries can be issued the card is not published
  • Card form factor is unconfirmed — physical, virtual or both is not stated
  • The issuing bank and card programme manager are not named
  • KYC requirements are not documented
  • The assets eligible to spend, and those eligible for the yield vaults, are unnamed
  • Yield while you spend is a coming release, not a live feature — the main differentiator does not exist yet
  • No vault terms, yield rate or eligibility list published for the yield feature
  • How a payment is funded from assets held in yield vaults has not been explained
  • The self-custody claim is not detailed: the card programme’s authorisation over your smart account is undisclosed
  • No native mobile app — Startale App is a web interface, so card management is browser-based
  • Only Ethereum and Soneium are supported today, with other chains promised rather than delivered
  • Independent coverage notes that earning yield on spendable holdings already exists in rival products
  • ATM and cash withdrawal position is unstated
  • Waitlist priority rewards referrals, which favours users willing to recruit others over earlier applicants
  • Startale reserves the right to verify emails and demote or disqualify reservations it deems invalid

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I get the Startale Card now?

Not yet. You can reserve a place on the waitlist inside the Startale App at app.startale.com/cards, but the card itself is pre-launch. Startale introduced it at WebX 2026 in Tokyo on 13 July 2026 and says the waitlist is live; some outlets reported the card as live while others described the waitlist as opening ahead of a public launch. No public launch date has been announced, and reserving a spot is free.

What does the Startale Card cost?

Nothing has been published. There is no disclosed issuance fee, monthly fee, annual fee, FX rate, authorisation fee or top-up fee, and the cashback percentage has not been announced either. Joining the waitlist is free. Until the fee schedule is released at launch, the card cannot be compared on cost with any other card in this directory — the case for it today rests on the self-custodial design, the USDSC cashback and Startale’s backing.

How does the waitlist work?

Queue position is set by two things: your STAR Points balance, which was snapshotted on 7 July 2026 to fix the initial ranks, and referrals, which keep counting until the card publicly launches. A referral only counts once the invited friend signs up for Startale App and completes their own card reservation. Ranks update daily, and Startale says it may demote or disqualify reservations linked to fake, duplicate or disposable email addresses.

Is it really self-custodial?

That is the design. Startale positions the card against products that require custodial accounts or locked assets, and funds sit in your smart account inside Startale App rather than being handed to a custodian. The app uses account abstraction with passkeys or social login instead of a seed phrase, and you can also connect an existing wallet such as MetaMask. What has not been published is the mechanics: what authorisation the card programme holds over your smart account, whether spending is a direct transfer or an approval, and where funds sit during settlement. Ask those questions before giving a card programme access to a wallet holding meaningful balances.

What is “earn yield while you spend”?

It is the feature that distinguishes Startale Card from most self-custodial cards. Eligible assets deposited into yield-generating vaults are meant to keep earning until the moment they are used for payment, so you do not have to choose between keeping assets productive and keeping them spendable. It is described as a coming release, so it is not live today, and no vault list, yield rate, eligibility rules or payment mechanics have been published. Independent coverage also notes that rivals already offer versions of this.

What cashback does the card pay?

Cashback is paid in USDSC, Startale’s own dollar stablecoin, and credited directly to the user’s account. That is confirmed. The rate is not published, so the value of the reward cannot be calculated yet. Startale App also runs a STAR Points programme with daily rewards and monthly missions, which currently drives waitlist priority rather than cash rewards.

Which assets can I spend, and on which chains?

The exact list has not been published. The card is built on Soneium, the Ethereum L2 Startale develops with Sony Block Solutions Labs, and Startale App supports Ethereum and Soneium today with more chains promised. USDSC, Startale’s dollar stablecoin, is the asset cashback is paid in, and ETH is the native asset of both supported chains. The app also includes swap functionality, so assets can be converted in-app before spending.

How does the card differ from the other self-custodial cards listed here?

The distinguishing claims are the yield-while-you-spend design, cashback paid in a native stablecoin, and the corporate backing — Startale Group is supported by SBI Group, Sony, Samsung Next and UOB Venture Management and raised a USD 63 million Series A in March 2026, and it develops Soneium with Sony Group. The comparable self-custodial Visa products already shipping, such as MetaMask Card and Gnosis Pay, have published fee schedules. Startale has none yet, so the honest difference is that this one is earlier and better capitalised, not yet cheaper or more capable.

Fees at a Glance

Setup / Issuance—
Monthly fee—
Annual fee—
ATM withdrawal—
FX fee—
CashbackCashback paid in USDSC, Startale’s dollar stablecoin, credited directly to the user’s account — the rate is not published. Startale App also runs STAR Points from daily rewards and monthly missions, with queue priority in the card waitlist driven by STAR Points and referrals
Spending limitNot published — no per-transaction, daily or monthly spending limits have been disclosed for the Startale Card