BTCBTC$81,208-0.25%|
ETHETH$2,393.9+0.38%|
USDTUSDT$0.99912+0.02%|
BNBBNB$740.7900+1.31%|
XRPXRP$1.3000-0.39%|
USDCUSDC$0.99962+0.02%|
SOLSOL$103.5600-0.04%|
TRXTRX$0.32981+0.53%|
FIGR_HELOCFIGR_HELOC$1.0230-1.69%|
ZECZEC$1,224.48+0.73%|
HYPEHYPE$77.0900-0.58%|
DOGEDOGE$0.07905+0.50%|
XMRXMR$596.7500-1.93%|
USDSUSDS$1.0000+0.02%|
WBTWBT$78.9000-0.10%|
LINKLINK$11.9100-0.48%|
LEOLEO$9.0500+0.89%|
ADAADA$0.21324+0.31%|
NEARNEAR$4.7300-3.80%|
XLMXLM$0.17474-0.88%|
RAINRAIN$0.00827625-3.55%|
BCHBCH$283.3200+3.38%|
USDEUSDE$0.99940+0.02%|
LTCLTC$58.3800-0.66%|
DAIDAI$1.0000+0.03%|
UNIUNI$7.0600+0.38%|
CCCC$0.10228+0.12%|
AVAXAVAX$9.0300-0.94%|
SUISUI$0.97188-0.47%|
USD1USD1$0.99883+0.01%|
BTCBTC$81,208-0.25%|
ETHETH$2,393.9+0.38%|
USDTUSDT$0.99912+0.02%|
BNBBNB$740.7900+1.31%|
XRPXRP$1.3000-0.39%|
USDCUSDC$0.99962+0.02%|
SOLSOL$103.5600-0.04%|
TRXTRX$0.32981+0.53%|
FIGR_HELOCFIGR_HELOC$1.0230-1.69%|
ZECZEC$1,224.48+0.73%|
HYPEHYPE$77.0900-0.58%|
DOGEDOGE$0.07905+0.50%|
XMRXMR$596.7500-1.93%|
USDSUSDS$1.0000+0.02%|
WBTWBT$78.9000-0.10%|
LINKLINK$11.9100-0.48%|
LEOLEO$9.0500+0.89%|
ADAADA$0.21324+0.31%|
NEARNEAR$4.7300-3.80%|
XLMXLM$0.17474-0.88%|
RAINRAIN$0.00827625-3.55%|
BCHBCH$283.3200+3.38%|
USDEUSDE$0.99940+0.02%|
LTCLTC$58.3800-0.66%|
DAIDAI$1.0000+0.03%|
UNIUNI$7.0600+0.38%|
CCCC$0.10228+0.12%|
AVAXAVAX$9.0300-0.94%|
SUISUI$0.97188-0.47%|
USD1USD1$0.99883+0.01%|
CoinUp.io (CoinUp Global Limited)
CoinUp.io (CoinUp Global Limited)Virtual + Physical

CoinUp Card

A custodial card from the CoinUp exchange: a virtual Mastercard with Apple Pay and Google Pay plus a newer physical Visa with ATM access and a headline monthly limit of up to USD 1M. Crypto cashback is promised on every spend, but the rate is not published.

2.0
Asia, Latin America, Middle East, Africa Mastercard (virtual) / Visa (physical) Visit website

Overview

What the CoinUp Card is

CoinUp.io is a crypto exchange, and its card is the familiar exchange-card shape: you top up from your account balance and spend with a virtual card or, more recently, a physical one. CoinUp splits the offer in two, which is unusual and genuinely useful:

  • Virtual Mastercard - up to five cards per account, for online shopping and subscriptions, with Apple Pay and Google Pay support, no annual or inactivity fees, and a stated reach of 175M+ merchants.
  • Physical Visa - one card per account, for in-store payments and ATM withdrawals, marketed with a monthly limit of up to USD 1,000,000, real-time alerts and PIN verification, and no VIP requirement.

Two networks in one programme is a practical decision: Mastercard for the online subscription crowd, Visa for people who want plastic and cash. Independent trackers put acceptance at over 110 million Mastercard merchants across 170+ countries, with availability concentrated in APAC, LATAM, MENA and Africa.

The cashback promise without a number

CoinUp markets «crypto cashback on every transaction» as its central benefit, and the animated proof-of-concept in the page shows +10 USDT and +30 USDT notifications. What the page never states is the cashback rate. It is absent from the card page, the FAQ and the fee rates section, and independent analysis lists it as not disclosed. That is a meaningful gap: a card whose main selling point cannot be quantified should be judged on its other terms until the rate is confirmed in the app.

What you can and cannot verify

The features are clear enough - instant top-up from your CoinUp account, automatic conversion of USDT to USD at the point of sale, spending management and transaction tracking in the app, refunds handled back to the card. What is not disclosed is the layer that matters most for trust: the issuing company, the sponsor bank and any licence are not stated. Independent analysis describes the model as custodial, with funds sitting inside the CoinUp ecosystem, notes that the home jurisdiction appears to be an offshore one, and concludes there is no regulatory protection comparable to a European EMI for non-Asian users.

The exchange's own reputation adds context. CoinUp's Trustpilot profile sits at 3.0 from a small sample with a polarised distribution - roughly two-thirds one-star reviews mentioning blocked accounts and frozen funds, against a third at four to five stars - while its App Store listing for the exchange app scores 4.6 from 28 ratings. Sample sizes are small, but the pattern of account-freezing complaints is the standard risk of custodial exchange cards and belongs in any decision.

The practical read

For an existing CoinUp user in a supported region, the card is a free-to-hold convenience with a physical Visa option that many competitors lack. For everyone else, the missing pieces - undisclosed cashback rate, unnamed issuer, unnamed sponsor bank, no published FX schedule - make this a card to use with spending balances only, not savings. If you want an exchange card with a named issuer and published fees, the Zoomex Card names UR as its Swiss-licensed custodian, and the RedotPay comparison plus the wider crypto cards directory cover the alternatives.

Features & Benefits

Virtual card

  • Virtual Mastercard, up to five cards per account, for online shopping and subscriptions.
  • Acceptance at 175M+ merchants worldwide, with 170+ countries and regions covered.
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay support.
  • No annual or inactivity fees.

Physical card

  • Physical Visa card, one per account, for in-store payments and ATM withdrawals.
  • Monthly limit marketed as up to USD 1,000,000.
  • Real-time transaction alerts and PIN verification.
  • No VIP requirement, no annual fee and no inactivity fee.
  • Applied for in the app and delivered to you.

Account and app features

  • Top up by transferring crypto from your CoinUp account to the card, with the balance spendable instantly.
  • USDT converts to USD at the point of sale.
  • Spending tracking and card settings managed inside the CoinUp app.
  • Refunds are handled back to the card.

Requirements

  • An active, registered CoinUp account.
  • Completed KYC identity verification.
  • Residence in an eligible region, which CoinUp says must be confirmed in the app.

Supported Cryptocurrencies

What the card spends

Funding comes from your CoinUp exchange account, with USDT the asset CoinUp names explicitly: funds transferred to the card are spendable instantly and convert to USD at the point of payment. The card page does not publish a full list of top-up assets, so other balances on the exchange may or may not be usable - check in the app.

How the conversion works

  • Transfer crypto from your CoinUp account to the card.
  • The balance is available immediately, and USDT auto-converts to USD when you spend.
  • Refunds from merchants route back to the card.

Custody and where the money sits

The card is custodial: funds move out of your exchange account and sit inside the CoinUp card balance, which CoinUp or its undisclosed service provider controls. Independent analysis notes that neither the issuing company nor the sponsor bank is named, and that the model offers no self-custody option. That is the key risk to price in - keep only what you plan to spend on the card, and do not use it as a savings vehicle.

Fees & Limits

Published costs

  • Card issuance fee: free, per independent trackers.
  • Annual fee: none.
  • Inactivity fee: none.
  • Foreign exchange markup: recorded as 0%, though CoinUp does not publish an FX schedule itself.
  • ATM fees and limits: not declared. The physical card supports ATM withdrawals, but no fee or ceiling is published.

Reported but unconfirmed

  • A 1% top-up fee is referenced in third-party recruitment material for the card team («low 1% top-up fee»), but it does not appear in CoinUp's public card documentation. Confirm the actual funding cost in the app.
  • The cashback rate is not published anywhere by CoinUp, despite being the card's headline benefit.

What this means in practice

A card advertising free issuance, no annual fee and 0% FX looks cheap on paper. The unpriced items are the ones that decide the real cost: the top-up fee, the conversion spread on USDT to USD, and the cashback rate that would offset them. Until those three numbers are visible in your account, treat any cost comparison as provisional.

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Two cards in one programme: a virtual Mastercard for online spend and a physical Visa with ATM access
  • Physical card marketed with a monthly limit of up to USD 1,000,000 and no VIP requirement
  • Up to five virtual cards per account, useful for separating subscriptions and vendors
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay support plus instant top-up from the CoinUp account
  • No annual fee and no inactivity fee on either card, with issuance recorded as free
  • Wide stated acceptance across 170+ countries and regions, with 175M+ merchant locations cited
  • Crypto cashback promised on every transaction, subject to the rate being confirmed

Cons

  • Cashback rate is not published anywhere despite being the card's headline benefit
  • Issuing company, sponsor bank and licence are not disclosed
  • Custodial model: funds sit inside the CoinUp ecosystem with no self-custody option
  • Top-up fee is not published in official documentation, with 1% referenced only in third-party recruitment material
  • ATM fees and limits are not declared despite ATM access being a selling point
  • FX markup is recorded as 0% by third parties but not confirmed by CoinUp
  • CoinUp's Trustpilot profile sits at 3.0 with a polarised distribution, where around two-thirds of a small sample are one-star reviews mentioning blocked accounts and frozen funds
  • Eligibility is limited to select regions and must be confirmed in the app

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CoinUp Card?

A custodial crypto card from the CoinUp exchange. It comes in two forms: a virtual Mastercard (up to five per account) for online shopping and subscriptions, and a physical Visa card for in-store payments and ATM withdrawals with a headline monthly limit of up to USD 1,000,000.

What cashback does the CoinUp Card pay?

CoinUp markets crypto cashback on every transaction but does not publish the rate on its card page, FAQ or fee documentation. Independent trackers list it as not disclosed, so confirm the actual percentage in the app before treating rewards as a reason to use the card.

Is the CoinUp Card free?

Issuance is recorded as free and there are no annual or inactivity fees. The unpublished costs are the top-up fee - referenced as 1% only in third-party recruitment material - and the conversion spread when USDT becomes USD.

Who issues the CoinUp Card?

CoinUp does not name the issuing company, the sponsor bank or any licence for the card programme. Independent analysis notes this as a transparency gap and describes the model as custodial, with funds held inside the CoinUp ecosystem.

Which countries can use the CoinUp Card?

CoinUp says the card is accepted at merchants in 170+ countries and regions, and third-party trackers list availability across APAC, LATAM, MENA and Africa. Eligibility is limited to select regions and CoinUp directs users to confirm their country in the app.

Do I need KYC?

Yes. You need an active CoinUp account with completed KYC identity verification before applying for the card.

Does the card support Apple Pay and Google Pay?

Yes, the virtual Mastercard supports both, and the physical Visa card supports in-store payment with PIN verification and real-time alerts.

Can I withdraw cash with the CoinUp Card?

Yes, the physical Visa card supports ATM withdrawals, unlike many crypto cards. Note that CoinUp does not publish ATM fees or limits, and independent trackers record them as undeclared.

Fees at a Glance

Setup / IssuanceFree
Monthly feeFree
Annual feeFree
ATM withdrawal—
FX feeIndependent trackers record the FX markup as 0%, alongside a free issuance fee. CoinUp itself advertises no annual or inactivity fees and does not publish a foreign exchange schedule for the card, so the zero figure should be confirmed in the app before relying on it for cross-border spending.
CashbackCrypto cashback on every transaction is the headline promise - «spend more, earn more» - but CoinUp does not publish the rate anywhere on the card page, in its FAQ, or in its fee documentation. Independent trackers list the cashback rate as not disclosed. Treat the reward as unquantified until you see a confirmed percentage in the app.
Spending limitThe physical Visa card is marketed with a monthly limit of up to USD 1,000,000 and supports in-store payments and ATM withdrawals. The virtual Mastercard supports up to five cards per account. Independent analysis records card limits as not published in detail, and the card FAQ does not list per-transaction or daily ceilings.

Supported Coins

USDT

Fiat Currencies

USD

Available In

170+ countries and regionsAPACLATAMMENAAfrica